John McEuen and Jimmy Ibbotson with Jennifer Warnes – Nitty Gritty Surround


“Best of Show”in the Surround Music Awards, this is one of our best selling albums. It features John McEuen and Jimmy Ibbotson with special guests Jennifer Warnes and Laurie Lewis.

SKU: AIX 80008 Categories: , , , , , , ,

In November of 2000, two of the founding members of the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band and some of their friends got together on the stage at the historic Fox Theater in Hanford, California to record this ground breaking, award-winning DVD-Audio/Video album. With only acoustic instruments in hand and their voices to support themselves, they sat in a circle, played bluegrass music and traditional country tunes all day for our cameras and high-definition recording equipment. The 5.1 channel surround mix immerses the listener in the sound of mandolin, guitar, fiddle, banjo and harmonizing vocals. Listeners can select an “audience”, “stage” or “stereo” mix while viewing multiple camera angle video. Instrumentals and lots of singing were the order of the day, capped by two songs by audiophile favorite Jennifer Warnes!

This is one of our best-selling titles. It might be because of the amazing clarity, detail and immersive nature of the sound or the magnificent abilities of everyone involved — especially John and Jimmy, but also Laurie Lewis, Jonathan McEuen and one of the truly amazing voices of the past 30 years Jennifer Warnes.

This disc was awarded the Surround Music Awards for Best of Show and Best Additional Features over other more “high profile artists” and eMedia magazine awarded Nitty Gritty Surround a Discus Award in 2002 calling this disc a clear winner! The reviews have lavished very high praise for the sound, the mixing and the performances on this DVD-Audio/Video titles. In fact, this is the disc that I play to convince other artists to get involved in our little label. It’s clearly a measure above standard commercial releases.

There are a lot of bonus features on this double-sided disc including interviews, interactive linear notes, session photos and much more.

AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video discs have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back].

The sound of this recording brings these incredible musicians into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics.

Audio Samples:

  1. Miner’s Night Out –
  2. Darcy Farrow –
  3. Moonlight Dancing –
  4. Acoustic Traveler –
  5. Somewhere Somebody –
  6. Too Late Love Comes To Me –
  7. Shady Grove –
  8. The Oak and the Laurel –
  9. Swing to Bop –
  10. It’s Morning –
  11. Blue Days, Sleepless Nights –