David Garfield and The Retro Jazz Quintet


An electric jazz album featuring David Garfield and a superb ensemble featuring Oscar Seaton, Walt Fowler, and Larry Klimas.

SKU: AIX 80022 Categories: , ,

David Garfield has appeared on one of our projects previously…The Latin Jazz Trio with Luis Conte and David Carpenter. That disc has been one of our best-selling products because of the amazing playing and the relaxed nature of most of the songs. David approached me and asked whether I would be interested in producing a new project with an electric quintet that features two wonderful brass players. The DVD is the result…one of our first to include electric instruments and some solidly loud playing. It works!

David started his career with jazz greats such as Willie Bobo, Freddie Hubbard, and Tom Scott in the 70’s. After being on the L.A. scene for several years, he moved into the vast studio world during its heyday and earned a reputation for fine craftsmanship and versatility. This work eventually led to composing opportunities for television, film, and commercials (NBC / Disney / Nippon Television / RTL Germany). During the 80’s, Garfield arranged and produced many top Japanese artists and went on to produce his own projects for release in Japan. For the past 20 years, he has enjoyed continued popularity and success in that part of the world.

The music on this disc is straight ahead traditional electric jazz.. The players are all seasoned professionals and weave wonderful solos from the original David Garfield penned tunes. Oscar Seaton is especially notable for his terrific drumming.

AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back].

The sound of this recording brings these incredible instrumentalists into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics. Check out how great electric band jazz can sound!

Audio Samples

  1. Afro Blue –
  2. Harvest Time –
  3. Inner Urge –
  4. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise –
  5. Donna –
  6. Dream Come True –
  7. Nica’s Dream –
  8. Pools –
  9. Corbitt Van Brauer (Sir Charles) –