Shostakovich – Piano Quintet Op. 57 Debussy – Sonata for Flute, Viola & Harp / Brockman – Feast of Fives – Chamber Music Palisades


These performances by the Chamber Music Palisades ensemble are played with finesse, virtuosity, and great emotion. The high-resolution sound — in both stereo and surround — brings a new level of fidelity to music listening.

SKU: AIX 85052 Categories: , , ,

“For over twenty years the Chamber Music Palisades organization, an ensemble based in the west side of Los Angeles, has been performing chamber music to sold out crowds and critical acclaim. Headed by co-artistic directors Susan Greenberg and Delores Stevens, the group draws upon the wealth of musical talent in the southern California area to augment their core group for their annual concert season. The group specializes in challenging repertoire, classical favorites and has even commissioned a number of new works.

My association with the principals of this ensemble goes back to my earliest days of music school in the mid-seventies when I took ear-training with Susan and continued when Delores and I were both faculty members at California State University, Dominguez Hills. I was very pleased to get involved in this project because of the wonderful musicians, the compelling repertoire and because it was our first classcial production that was shot in HD-Video. This blu-ray disc captures both the music [is presented in lossless Dolby TrueHD] and video in high definition.


  • Susan Greenberg, flute
  • Delores Stevens, piano
  • JoAnn Turovsky, harp
  • Roger Wilkie, violin
  • Rene Mandel, violin
  • Paul Coletti, viola
  • Peter Stumpf, cello

The Shostakovich piece is an expansive and intensely emotional piano quintet that encompasses the full range of compositional techniques including a fugue. The Debussy piece, a late work from the French master impressionist composer, projects a much lighter tone. The delicate interplay between instrumentalists and the wide variety of textures and colors makes this trio a wonderful companion to the large Russian work. Joined with these masterworks is a new work from Jane Brockman, a transplanted east coast composer currently living and working in Los Angeles.

Audio Samples:

    • Shostakovich – Quintet for Piano, 2 Violins, Viola & Cello
      1. Prelude –
      2. Fugue –
      3. Scherzo –
      4. Intermezzo and Finale –

Debussy – Sonata for Flute, Viola & Harp

      1. Pastorale –
      2. Interlude –
      3. Final –

Brockman – Feast of Fives / Trio for Flute, Cello and Piano

    1. Feast of Fives –