Zephyr: Voices Unbound


A 12-voice a cappella choir arranged in a circle around the listener creates a completely enveloping musical experience in surround. The repertoire ranges from 15th C madrigals to 20th C popular favorites.

SKU: AIX 80012 Categories: , , , , ,

The circle of vocalists that you see on the cover of this DVD-Audio/Video release is the sound that you hear. Imagine standing in the middle of the singers, closing your eyes and taking in the sound of highly skilled singers as they explore repertoire from the 16th century to the present. The sound of this first-ever high definition recording of a vocal ensemble was a revelation to the members of the group. If you enjoy the sound of tight vocal harmonies and interesting counterpoint, this DVD is one of a kind. Complete with video and alternate mixes.

This is one of our most popular releases and is currently in its third pressing. The repertoire is diverse but the consistency of wonderful singing and the immersive mixes makes this a perfect exploration into the world of high definition audio and vocal ensembles. The renaissance is well represented by “Now is the Month of Maying”, a track was featured on a DVD-Audio sampler disc distributed with the 2005 Acura TL. There’s music by Freddie Mercury of Queen and a track originally sung and arranged by The Swingle Singers as well as some new compositions. The diversity of music eras allows the ensemble to show off their multitude of talents across different styles.

I received an email from a choral director that swore that he was in sonic heaven, “This is the first time I’ve ever heard a vocal recording that sounded like what I experienced while directing my choirs!” The 12-voice a cappella choir known as Zephyr has been making music for over a decade and has toured extensively on the west coast. They have recorded a number of CDs including the critically acclaimed “A Choir of Angels”, which explores the music of the California missions.

AIX Records’ premium DVD-Audio/Video have two sides. The first side in an interactive DVD-Video disc and the other side is a DVD-Audio disc [which requires a DVD-Audio capable machine to play it back].

The sound of this recording brings these incredible musicians into your listening space. The HD-Audio surround mixes immerse you in the musical interplay with full range frequency response and dynamics. 

Audio Samples:

  1. April Is In My Mistress Face –
  2. Now Is The Month Of Maying –
  3. Revecy Venire Le Printemps –
  4. Le Chant Des Oyseaux –
  5. Quand Je Bois –
  6. C’est Trops Parle De Bacchus –
  7. O Mistress Mine –
  8. Come Away, Death –
  9. I Am Gone, Sir –
  10. Come, Live With Me –
  11. The Lark At Heaven’s Gate Sings –
  12. Take, O Take Those Lips Away –
  13. Tell Me Where Is Fancy Bred –
  14. It Was A Lover And His Lass –
  15. Who Is Sylvia? –
  16. Come To Me –
  17. Bright Morning Star –
  18. Love Lost –
  19. Seaside Rendezvous –
  20. The Unknown Region –
  21. Love Is Where –
  22. Careful –
  23. Your Little Hands –